iGLOBALTEC AGUASCALIENTES

Now responsive website. The starting point for understanding.

WOULD: CONDITIONAL

We use would + infinitive without to in the main clause of the second/unreal conditional to talk about possible results of an uncertain situation:

I wouldn’t have to work hard if I was rich.

What would you do if you lost your passport?

We use would have + past participle in the main clause of the third/unreal conditional to talk about the theoretical results of a situation that did not happen:

I would have taken a picture of the Loch Ness monster if I had seen it.

If I had lived a hundred years ago, I wouldn’t have traveled by air.

Remember!

In informal writing and spoken English we often use the short form ‘d.

Learning tip

Look at the lyrics of your favorite songs and try to find phrases with would in the second and the third conditionals in them.

I’d rather be a sparrow than a snail… (El Condor Pasa).

No one would have believed in the last years of the nineteenth century that… (War of the Worlds).

3 Respuestas a “WOULD: CONDITIONAL

  1. wordpress themes julio 24, 2014 en 6:57 am

    Good info. Lucky me I recently found your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have bookmarked it for later!

  2. http://www.car-audio-upgrades.co.uk/ agosto 14, 2014 en 3:12 am

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from
    an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.

    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions?
    Appreciate it

  3. Steven septiembre 8, 2014 en 2:00 am

    Your style is very unique compred to oother folks I have read stuff from.

    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I
    will just book mrk this page.

Deja un comentario. Leave a comment

