iGLOBALTEC AGUASCALIENTES

Now responsive website. The starting point for understanding.

SIMPLE PAST vs PAST PERFECT

We use the past perfect to show that an action had already happened before another action in the past. For the main action we use the simple past. For the earlier action we use the past perfect.

When the kids got up, their parents had already had breakfast.

Nobody had helped me, so I couldn’t finish the job in time.

He looked a lot better after he had lost some weight.

Remember!

We cannot use the past perfect without thinking of another action or time reference in the past:

undefined

He didn’t see the end of the movie because he had fallen asleep.

To talk about several actions that followed one another we use the simple past.

He stood up, walked to the door, slowly opened it and found a dog sitting outside.

Learning tip

Think of two things that you did yesterday. Say what you did in one sentence using the past perfect with a time word for the earlier action. Practice this tense contrast with similar action pairs.

2 Respuestas a “SIMPLE PAST vs PAST PERFECT

  1. Go to my website julio 11, 2012 en 9:33 pm

    This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thanks!

  2. Prisoners 2013 Putlocker octubre 21, 2013 en 9:30 am

    After checking out a handful of the articles on
    your site, I truly like your technique of wtiting a
    blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark websiye list and
    will be checming back soon.Please check out my web site as well and let me know your opinion.

Deja un comentario. Leave a comment

